Image to layered PSD: the tools compared
18 tools (LayerPSD included) for getting layers out of a flat image, compared on the four questions that decide whether a file is useful afterwards: is the export a real layered PSD, is the text editable, is the background behind objects filled in, and what does it cost. Every cell quotes what the tool states on its own site on 2026-09-30; intolayers.com: 2026-10-09; Canva Magic Layers: 2026-10-05; "Not stated" means the site does not say.
| Tool | Layered PSD | Editable text layers | Background filled in | Pricing (as shown on the site) | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LayerPSDThis site | Yes Layered PSD, ZIP of PNGs or single PNGs, built in the browser | Yes Native Photoshop type layers when you export "PSD with editable text" (99% of 206 lines in a 30-design test), with stroke, glow, shadow and gradient as layer styles; lettering the model cannot read stays as pixels | Yes Background repainted behind every element (amodal inpainting) | Credit packs from $9.90 for 100 credits ($0.071–$0.099 a credit), valid 12 months. 1 credit per output image on Seedream 5.0 Flash, about 6.7 on Pro; background + 4 layers = 5 credits. One free try with Google sign-in. No subscription | Auto splits up to 16 elements per pass and runs extra passes on busy images. Input up to 50 MB, output 1K–2K. Real runs with cost and time on /examples and /data/benchmarks.json |
| image-layer.com | Yes "Real Photoshop PSD file" | Not stated Not stated; the editor lists "Add text layers" | Not stated Not stated | Free credits for new accounts. Credit packs from $19 / 100 credits (Starter) to $99 / 2,800 credits (Studio); annual plans $10–$59 per month. Per-image price not stated | No watermarks; account required |
| imgtolayers.org | Yes PSD, PNG, ZIP | Not stated Not stated | Yes "Background reconstruction repaints the pixels hidden behind it" | 20 free credits once. Creator $19/mo ($10/mo annual, 12,000 credits/yr), Studio $49/mo ($30/mo annual, 36,000 credits/yr) | Input up to 4096×4096 px, output about 0.4 megapixels, up to 10 layers; API on Studio; files kept 7 days (free) to 1 year (Studio) |
| img2layers.org | Yes PSD, PNG/WebP, ZIP | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated | 10 free credits. Starter $9.90/mo (250 credits), Pro $25.90/mo (900), Studio $49.90/mo (2,000); 4 layers = 10 credits, 10 layers = 28 credits | Sign-in required before upload; states it uses fal-ai/qwen-image-layered |
| lawh.ai | Yes .psd with "each element on its own named layer" | Yes "Text still live", retype in Photoshop | Not stated Not stated | Free: 5 image-to-layers per month (plus 5 AI designs, 15 edits). Starter $19/mo, Pro $39/mo, Studio $99/mo | Primarily a text-to-design generator; image-to-layers is a monthly allowance |
| CopySlidesvs LayerPSD | Yes PSD | Partial Text passing confidence, orientation and layout checks becomes a native text layer; the rest stays in pixels with a warning | Not stated Not stated; transparent PNGs are composited onto white first | Free to try (limits not stated). Starter $9/mo (200 slides), Plus $19/mo (600 slides), Lifetime $149 once. PSD conversions not priced separately | Input up to 20 MB and 16 million pixels; main product is image/PDF to PPTX; sign-in required |
| EzLayers | Yes "Preserves layer hierarchy, naming, and alpha masks" | Not stated Not stated | Yes "Reconstructs occluded textures and lighting" | 20 free credits at sign-up (up to 4 layers per run, 1.5K output). Starter $9.9/mo (500 credits), Pro $29.9/mo (2,000), Studio $69.9/mo (6,000); yearly −33% | Input up to 30 MB, paid output 2K; batch on Studio; API on request |
| layersmith.app | Yes "Real layered .psd with named groups and non-destructive masks" | Yes "Lift them into real editable type in a close-matched face" (from 1 credit) | Yes Hidden areas "rebuilt rather than left as a hole" (optional "Fill behind") | Free: 6 credits at sign-up, one layered .psd a day. Monthly $9/mo (unlimited PSD, 50 credits), Studio $19/mo (200 credits), $3 top-up; a split from 1 credit | PNG/JPG, up to 60 objects; downloads need a free account; no watermark |
| intolayers.com | Yes Layered PSD (the default export), a ZIP of PNGs or one transparent PNG per element | No Text "comes back as a raster image layer, not live editable type"; hide the layer and retype it in your own editor | Yes The base layer fills the space left by removed elements; hidden areas are estimated, not recovered | Per layer: "a 2-layer run at 1K costs 10 credits". The first 2-layer run at 1K needs no account; 1.5K and 2K output, 3 or more layers and Auto need a paid plan or a credit pack (prices not on the tool page) | PNG or JPG up to 10 MB, one image at a time; about 45 s for 2 layers and a median of 82 s for 6 layers at 1K; no layer editing inside the tool yet |
| imagetolayers.comvs LayerPSD | Yes "An editable PSD file" | Not stated Not stated; the demo labels some layers "Text" | Yes "Reconstruct plausible hidden areas behind overlaps" | Free layered preview (no credits). Creator $19/mo ($10/mo yearly, 12,000 credits/yr), Studio $49/mo ($30/mo yearly, 36,000 credits/yr); credits per layer not stated | JPG/PNG/WebP, "Lossless 4K"; API on Studio; sign-in required |
| imagetolayers.org | Yes "Export as PNG, ZIP, or a layered PSD" | Not stated Not stated | Yes "A rebuilt background" | Trial: 20 credits (one 2-layer split), 7 days, watermarked. Starter $9.90 / 600 credits, Creator $39 / 2,600, Studio $99 / 7,000; 10 credits per layer | JPG/PNG/WebP up to 10 MB, 2–17 layers; a separate site from imgtolayers.org |
| imagetopsd.comvs LayerPSD | Yes "A real layered PSD file" | Not stated Not stated; "text regions" go on separate layers | Yes "Smart Background Inpainting & Occlusion Fill" on paid plans | Free: 20 credits, up to 4 layers per run. Starter $4.9 / 200 credits, Pro $19.9 / 1,000, Studio $49.9 / 3,000 (valid 365 days); about 10 credits for 2 layers | Up to 30 MB; paid output "Lossless 2K"; 16–50 layers by plan; no watermark |
| image2layer.com | Yes "Every run exports as a layered PSD" | No "A headline arrives as an image of text rather than live type" | Yes "Rebuild hidden areas behind foreground elements" | Free: 10 credits. Starter $9/mo (400 credits), Creator $29/mo (1,400), Studio $79/mo (4,000); 8 credits per layer | JPG/PNG/WebP up to 24 MB, at least 512×512, up to 10 layers; sign-up required |
| image-to-psd.app | Yes "Export a PSD draft" | No "Text regions are kept as image blocks"; editable text is "planned" | Not stated Not stated | Free: 5 conversions/month, 5 MB. Pro $9.9/mo, Lifetime $199 once | Product-photo focus; up to 4K on Pro; API on a waitlist |
| Canva Magic Layersvs LayerPSD | No Layers stay inside a Canva design; Canva's download types (JPG, PNG, SVG, PDF, PPTX, DOCX, GIF, MP4) do not include PSD | Yes "Edit text directly. Fix the typo, change the font", inside Canva | Not stated Not stated | A Premium AI tool on Canva's shared monthly AI allowance: up to 20 Premium-AI uses on Canva Free, up to 200 on Pro (US$144 a year per person, US prices). Canva's estimates for simple tasks; complex ones use more | Beta. PNG or JPG, single page, up to 5,000 px on the longest edge; works best on graphics and illustrations, photo-realistic images "may not separate as cleanly" |
| Photopea | By hand Opens any JPG/PNG as a one-layer PSD (File → Save as PSD); no AI splitting | By hand Retype by hand | By hand Clone / heal by hand | Free with ads; Premium 5 USD/month removes ads and, per its blog, adds no features | The right tool when you only need the .psd extension, not layers |
| Adobe Photoshop / Firefly | By hand Object Selection, Select and Mask, Layer via Copy, one element at a time | By hand Match Font, then retype | By hand Remove Tool / Generative Fill per hole (generative credits) | Photoshop US$22.99/mo (annual, billed monthly) with 25 generative credits/mo. Firefly Standard US$9.99/mo (2,000 credits) to Premium US$199.99/mo | Full control and the best edges; a 10-element poster is typically 30–60 minutes by hand |
| Cleanup.pictures | No PNG/JPG only | n/a Removes text; no layers | Yes Inpainting removal | Free with output limited to 720p; Pro from $3/mo or $36/yr for full resolution | For removing one thing from one image, not for getting layers |
Credit-based plans are quoted as listed; most sites do not state a per-image price, so the columns are not directly comparable to LayerPSD's per-output billing. Prices are in the currency shown on each site. Tell us about a mistake at hi@layerpsd.com and we will correct it.
How to read the table
Three questions separate a file you can keep working on from a converted picture.
Layered PSD
A converter that only changes .jpg into .psd (Photopea does this for free) gives you one flat layer. The tools marked Yes separate the picture into elements first.
Editable text
Most splitters return text as pixels (image2layer and image-to-psd.app say so outright). Native Photoshop type layers (lawh.ai, layersmith, CopySlides for text that passes its checks, LayerPSD) can be retyped; check what happens to lettering the tool cannot read.
Background filled in
If the area behind a cut-out object is left empty, moving the object leaves a hole. Most dedicated splitters now fill it in (imgtolayers, EzLayers, layersmith, imagetopsd, image2layer, LayerPSD), which lets you move or hide layers freely.
Sources
Pages read on 2026-09-30; intolayers.com: 2026-10-09; Canva Magic Layers: 2026-10-05. Where a page was unreachable or did not state a fact, the cell says so.
- image-layer.com / pricing
- imgtolayers.org / pricing
- img2layers.org / pricing
- lawh.ai / pricing
- copyslides.com/image-to-psd and /pricing
- ezlayers.com / pricing / developers
- photopea.com/learn/opening-saving
- blog.photopea.com/photopea-premium.html
- adobe.com/products/photoshop.html
- adobe.com/products/firefly/plans.html
- cleanup.pictures / pricing
- layersmith.app / pricing
- intolayers.com (facts on the home page)
- imagetolayers.com (pricing on the home page)
- imagetolayers.org / pricing
- imagetopsd.com / pricing
- image2layer.com / pricing
- image-to-psd.app / pricing
- Canva Magic Layers / product page
- Canva Magic Layers / help: file types and limits
- Canva Magic Layers / help: AI allowance by plan
- Canva Magic Layers / help: download file types
- Canva Magic Layers / pricing (US)
- Qwen-Image-Layered (the open model several of these tools use)
See what a LayerPSD split looks like on the examples page, or read how the numbers on this site are produced.