An imagetopsd.com alternative with editable text
Both split a flat image into a layered PSD without a monthly plan. LayerPSD adds native type layers for text and fills the background on every run.
Short answer
imagetopsd.com sells prepaid credit packs — Starter $4.9 for 200 credits up to Studio $49.9 for 3,000, valid 365 days — at about 10 credits for 2 layers, with 20 free credits (up to 4 layers per run) to start. It puts text regions on separate layers and lists 16 to 50 layers by plan, with background inpainting on paid plans; it does not say whether text becomes editable type. LayerPSD also needs no subscription: $0.018 per output image on Flash, so background + 4 layers costs $0.09. It fills in the background on every run, the free try included, and can export text as native Photoshop type with its effects as layer styles (beta).
imagetopsd.com and LayerPSD side by side
Quoted from each site on 2026-09-30. "Not stated" means the site does not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.
- Layered PSD
- Yes
"A real layered PSD file"
- Editable text layers
- Not stated
Not stated; "text regions" go on separate layers
- Background filled in
- Yes
"Smart Background Inpainting & Occlusion Fill" on paid plans
- Pricing (as shown on the site)
Free: 20 credits, up to 4 layers per run. Starter $4.9 / 200 credits, Pro $19.9 / 1,000, Studio $49.9 / 3,000 (valid 365 days); about 10 credits for 2 layers
- Notes
Up to 30 MB; paid output "Lossless 2K"; 16–50 layers by plan; no watermark
- Layered PSD
- Yes
Layered PSD, ZIP of PNGs or single PNGs, built in the browser
- Editable text layers
- Partial
Optional native Photoshop type layers with stroke, glow, shadow and gradient as layer styles (beta); lettering the model cannot read stays as pixels
- Background filled in
- Yes
Background repainted behind every element (amodal inpainting)
- Pricing (as shown on the site)
$0.018 per output image on Seedream 5.0 Flash, $0.12 on Pro; background + 4 layers = $0.09. One free try with Google sign-in. No subscription; runs on your LaoZhang API key
- Notes
Input up to 50 MB, output 1K–2K. Real runs with cost and time on /examples and /data/benchmarks.json
Which one to pick
Both are reasonable choices; it depends on how often you split images and what you need in the file.
Pick imagetopsd.com if
- You want more layers per run: it lists 16 to 50 by plan; LayerPSD returns up to 16 elements per pass (busy images get extra passes).
- You like prepaid credits: its packs stay valid for 365 days.
- You want several small splits free: it gives 20 credits at sign-up.
Pick LayerPSD if
- You need text you can retype: native Photoshop type layers with stroke, glow, shadow and gradient as layer styles (beta).
- You want the background filled in on the free try too: imagetopsd.com lists occlusion fill on paid plans.
- You need to change words but keep the lettering: the retype tool redraws the new words in the same style.
- Your images are large: up to 50 MB in (imagetopsd.com: up to 30 MB).
Other tools worth a look
From the full comparison of 16 tools.
- imagetolayers.com
Free layered preview (no credits). Creator $19/mo ($10/mo yearly, 12,000 credits/yr), Studio $49/mo ($30/mo yearly, 36,000 credits/yr); credits per layer not stated
- EzLayers
20 free credits at sign-up (up to 4 layers per run, 1.5K output). Starter $9.9/mo (500 credits), Pro $29.9/mo (2,000), Studio $69.9/mo (6,000); yearly −33%
- image2layer.com
Free: 10 credits. Starter $9/mo (400 credits), Creator $29/mo (1,400), Studio $79/mo (4,000); 8 credits per layer
See every tool on the comparison page, or real LayerPSD runs with time and cost on the examples page.
Sources read on 2026-09-30:imagetopsd.com / pricingSpotted a mistake? hi@layerpsd.com